top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureessentiallyblue

The Sky and I

I wrote a letter to the sky once. I had asked for a little sunshine...just a little...even if it was a single ray for me. I wanted to know I wasn't alone. Just that once, I wanted to know that someone paid attention to me. Well, the sky did pay attention to me and my words all right. That explains why she decided to give me the exact opposite of what I had asked for. More darkness.


For a long time, I was mad at her for not heeding my one, single request. As a result, it took me a long time to realize what had happened. Oh subtle sky. She did not give me the sun like I had requested. She did not give me a single ray. She knew and she understood that I could not withstand the heat of the sun, no matter how little. She knew, that even if it seemed like I really needed it, before long, I'd be weary from the weight of it's stare.


She knew and she understood that I could not withstand the heat of the sun, no matter how little...

Of course she'd know all of these. She had been up there for as long as I could remember. Just up there. Surely, she'd know what I wanted wasn't for me. She had spent so much time watching so, it was pretty clear she knew what it was I really needed.


It was refreshing letting go of the anger I felt towards her because of that. But soon enough that feeling turned into gratitude, as I pondered over why she had taken away my little starry nights and left me with sheer darkness.

28 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Musings

bottom of page