top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureessentiallyblue

Travelling Minds

I remember when we first met. I was mourning Mr Red, my big red teddy, whose death is still a mystery to me. You told me to cheer up, that you would find me a friend who would be dearer to me than Mr Red ever was. I believed you. I did and waited patiently on you.


It's been five years since your promise. We really did a lot of bonding together. You taught me how to show the mean girls off. You helped me get a voice among the crowd. You stayed with me through the night so I wouldn't be lonely. You talked to inanimate objects with me so people wouldn't call me crazy.


When we didn't have enough money for two icecream cones, which was all the time, you always got us chocolates, even though you hated them, because it was my favourite. We spent countless evenings looking for artworks in the clouds and endless nights drawing constellations in the stars. I still waited on your promise, every step of the way.


You were always there for me. It's been eight years now since your promise. You gave me the perfect childhood, not to mention your help to me when I had to deal with the ills of growth. When I had mood swings, you cried with me whenever I felt like it and dried my tears afterwards. You told jokes to me when I was sad and laughed with me when the days seemed bright.


It's been four years now since you left me. Four years since you vanished from my life. It was after I begged you to stop living in my head and be real like me, to really be in my life and help me stand when I fall, to really dry my tears when I cry and laugh with me when the days seem bright. That way, you could fulfil your promise to me and still stay with me.


You didn't listen. You left me and until today, I haven't set my mind on you or the friend you promised, because our story only happened in my head...

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Musings

bottom of page